Wednesday, July 20, 2005
NEWS
i have some good news for you.. yes i have my master2 and solenne too and steph too....:)and we are all in different cities...:( but i am just near to steph so it's better than nothing ut in fact my news as not this...:)
i managed to put all pics in web again with a quicker and easier method :)
You have to clik :
http://spaces.msn.com/members/cemile-york/
and have fun :)
i hope you are all fun and enjoy a lot :)
see u once i hope...:)
Tuesday, June 28, 2005
Charles in the afternoon for his birthday

You can imagine how was hard the Ascot's night, so we had to go to pub during the day to be prepared mentaly ...
In fact, it was the birthday of pub charles the 17 of juin. Do you all remember charles? it's our house the monday night because the beer is only 1.09 pounds.Or, if we had talk really sincerly, Charles is the pub that you go on monday to talk a little bit and come back to home at 11 pm to sleep. It's just 5 minutes of walk from halifax.
This day, the charles was even more fun: AT first there were a lot of cakes :) and secondly there were some games...In the others pictures you can see how we were laughing and enjoying :)The life is very fun in York in those days :).

Royal Ascot' s agents

Here you can see the agents who were working for speciale mission in Royale Ascoe... The mission was so speciale that we are not alowed to learn either...We had just to pick the bet paper and champagne bottles and talk :)At the end, you can be sure that our supervisor thanked to us because, he said that thanks to us, the nights were more happy :)
Boat trip

Steph discovred, last day, that we can rent a boat for 1 hour and pay just 3 pounds each and visit the river....So, as the weather is sunny and that thanks to river we can see a bit more from York; we decided to have a boat trip... It was really fun...I think the only problem was when i was driving...In fact there were again some ducks so i wanted to not kill them but i might kill us i think... :)It's not so important, we are still alive now :)
Gallery on 22 - 06 - 05

Again before gallery!!! We had said that we had liked a lot Gallery so we went again but this time we called a lot of poeple to our secret refuge for preparation:) The Gallery was again good... in fact nothing to tell about!the music was a little bit bad and it was crowdy but anyway the life is good when you laugh a lot:)You can see, without problems that everybody is smiling without break :)
Sunny - Ginger day

You can not believe? You think that we realised a little trip to italy??No!!! We are just in fornt of Yopunger Court E!!!You can recognize the good and very green english grass i think!!! When it's sunny like this, you think that the rains were really usefull because the grass is very green and soft...You can just lie and sleep...oOf course you have not to forget how to cook !! That's why just behind my head you can find a cook book:)In fact those monday was our ginger day so after a thiny shopping i made a gingercake. Ican give the recepe it's really easy and it's really tasty too..To be sure, we can ask to Sosso who ate more than half...Then of course she became crazy and decided to continue her gingerday and bring the ginger powder to Charles...and put in her cider:) Sorry? are you asking if we are crazy?? of course yes, if not we were not in England...:) But the gingercake, you really have to taste!
175 gr of teacle or sugar
40gr of sugar
175 gr of flour
75 gr of butter
1 table spoon mixed spices
2 table spoon ginger
1/2 table spoon bicarbonate of sodium
2 eggs beatten
100 l milk
First you cook the sugar and butter but please don't cook a lot if not you can have some strange chemistry reactions!!! If you burn sugar- butter mixture, you can add some oranges and then when it's cooked, cut in the middle and put some cream :)
Try it!!! :)
Thiny BBQ in Jeremie's house

As you can see the BBQ is the best thing that we realise in York. It's eay, quick, fun, hot...We can just be near the flames and warm ourself :) Or just eat some hot meats...IN fact our speciale meal for BBQ is salads.The girls, we like make some salads of rice, potatoes, pastas... and eat them....and then some cakes...little bit wine and cider (cheap in england ...)... LIfe is easy in ENgland... But don't forget that the ducks and rabbits in campus are protected by university so don't try to kill thenm and eat them!!! :)
Betty's tea room

We are in England so we decided to go to a tea room...As we worked in Royale Ascot and then met the Quenne, we said that we can go to a good tea room....We drank our tea and ate our scones with cream and jam like the real english people.Even solenne tried to drink a real tea but unfortunately, she didint like and drank just pipermint tea but it's alright :)
Happy Birthday Sayaka

After charles' birthday and a little mission in Ascot, we had to change our clothes just near to river that we never learn its name and have some magic potion near to church and finally we entered in Gallery that we were wanted to go since the first term ...But we so serious that we had never have the time...Anyway, the reason that we were there was the Birthday of Sayaka, so Happy birthday Sayaka...:)
By looking the pictures again, you will feel how we were happy !! In fact it's not so hard to be when we are just together and there is some good music and good motivation to move our body :)
Thursday, June 23, 2005
Family meal
Mother: solenne
Father: Peter
Child: carl
Snoopy: christophe
Nanny: jessica
Grandfather: johannes
Great great great grand mother: renata
Great great great grand father: frode
and great aunt or just the refugee rom developing court: cemile
Our meal was very english:
Lancashire hotpot, apple-rhubarb crumble, spotted dick. During the meal we tasted a lot of different and strange ale and beer like chocolate ale or banana and bread ale...Thanks to our child, carl, we tasted also the real proper cider which was pretty good camparated to the cider that we bought from costcutter for 1.99/ 2 liter :. We leraned that the dinner is finished by tea and rich tea biscuits at 10 pm so we had our tea biscuits ...by 2 am but anyway... and there are amazing ... the day after we finished the biscuits with glass...:)
The english dinner, even if it's hard to belive was really tasty.. perhaps because it was made by me and solenne but ... :)
The recepes were easy but strange especially the spotted dick. T first you mixt
8 oz self-raising flour
1pn salt
4 oz margarine
4-6 oz sultanas
6 tb milk
then you put the mixture which is not at all like a cake mixture, in a bowl that you cover with aliminium. You place the bowl in a pan full by water and you cook for 3 hours.Before serving you prepare a custard too...
Even if it was strange and that for the first we forgot the baking powder because we were using normal flour, and that the second was like a spotted dick biscuit, it was really tasty :)
I have nothing to say about the crumbles...asy to do easy to eat :)
The hotpot, was easy to cook but long because we put 2.5 kilo of potatoes, 2 kilos of carrots, 10 big mushrooms, 2 kilo of lamb, 4 big onions...if you want the whole recepe, you can see it on :
http://www.stosyth.gov.uk/default.asp?
calltype=dec04homepage
Anyway, the night was reallt cool and funny. It made us a little bit sad knowing that we will leave York very soon... Per example, our father left us last sunday and the nanny will leave tonight... then the next will be the great great great grandmum who will return to swizerland on wednesday....
But this 2 last weeks, we try to profit the most from york, england and friends... we try to see each other most oftenly and do all that we couldnt do during the terms because of our degree...
i hope your week was good, here it's sunny and fun and full :)
in the next blog we will explain our 2 gallery night, picnic, boat trip, birthday of sayaka, barbecue, ....
have fun :)
Monday, June 20, 2005
Happy Birthday Rowena
for me I think... Poor Sosso that I am..
Anyway after the big war with some english people, it was the Rowena's birthday in Eden's Court. A BBQ was prepared by Jeremy like always, he is a fanatic of fire! And Charles was
responsible for the cooking. Some good salads, good alcohols such Bailey where dressed on the table, without forgetting meats, chickens and sausages. The best part of the BBQ was the dessert in fact with no less than 4 chocolate cakes. It was impossible to not taste all of them. And for me the best of the best was Delphine's cake
with a lot of butter!! Concerning the atmosphere it was really an agreeable evening and night for some people. Imagine, the first time that I saw
James totally drunk, and it is actually funnier :)!!!! I cant explain more the birthday,you can just check again the pictures and see how we were happy even if we were very tired after the paintball.I was not drunk but I drank, and I fell down near the oven
because of Renata who was under control!! But i could say, that Rowena was very happy of this party, especially by a present: a photograph
album which reminds her the best moments that she lived this year in York. I came back with Cemile at around 2 something and after we tried to discuss seriously with our drinks
in front of my room's door. Finaly, at around 3 am we were sleeping on the floor, so we decided to go to bed in order to take a rest.
Monday, June 13, 2005
French music party
Imagine: Thierry Hasard, debut de soiree, without forgetting some zouk from DOM/TOM. But like always, the porter lodge came too early to stop the party. Why? Because it's the summer term and students have to work for assessments. So, "be quiet and switch off the music!!!" Anyway, we just decreased the music. In fact the problem was not the music but the the noise with too many people outside the house. So the porters came again and we decided to really stop the music. Some students left but half of them were still in the kitchen to discuss. Finally at around 2.00 am everybody left with a wounded Tan. He tried to open a bottle of wine without using a bottle
opener, so he opened his hand and went to the emergency. But everything is ok now. Boys are crazy sometimes... girls too in fact...
Friday, June 10, 2005
Happy Birthday Charles:)
Anyway, the party was very fun and Charles was very happy... The only problem was that he is FRENCH so CRAZY:)As it`s french tradition, he decided to kiss everybody but when i say everybody it`s everbody... the girls and the boys :) I think the girls were easier...Because of the boys, he had once some beer on his clothes and and he found him self in the lake :Cold, smelly, ducky lake :)
Except the craziness which made us laugh a lot, we enjoyed very much :)
Anyway, you can see that by the pictures i think...:)
The party lasted until 3 am i think and then we tiedied the room and unfortunately, we have a lost... the camera of Isabelle.. so if you saw a camera which dosen`t belong to you, you can tell us than we can make happy Isabelle :)
See you later:)
grimaces from clement.... :)
How are you?
us?
we are excellent!!!we finished our exams...and also our presentation...and as we have no more lecture to go...we are in holliday :)it is so wonderful..you can not imagine... we can just lie on the grass and talk and drink our tea as english people and sleep:)
how was our exams and presentations???Hmm it`s depend, i think but the most important is that it`s over :)
but we are very sad, thinking that in less than 4 weeks we will have to leave York and everybody...So we try to see each other as much as possible and do some party as much as possible and enjoy as much as possible :)
IF you click again in the picture of clement, you can see the others grimces that he had taken during the birthday of richard and stephan, the 03.06.06... There are really fun :)
Have a good friday and wait for the pictures about
charles birthday...it was hot :)
Younger E french music party, bloody :)
Pete celebrating his exams, funny and cowy :)
Wednesday, May 18, 2005
The old pictures, from the last term
Hello!!
we had just put the new blog but i can`t wait to put some old pictures... they are qui good i think but now i have to sleep ...so that tomorrow morning i can get up earlier and after my breakfast perhaps i can study more lovely chemistry and write some more cv and letters:)
and we were wanting to play soft ball tomorrow, a game like baseball but we saw on forecast that it will rain tomorrow,after tomorrow and friday and saturday...it`s wonderful!!!and steph will quit us to go to oxford:(and then solenne ... :( i think i can survive :)you can see it next week :)
have a good end of week and don`t study a lot and have fun ! :)
Tuesday, May 17, 2005
All with smiles
the time of course... not really in fact because of my F....ing work that i need to submit at the beginning of june. But anyway, i am not alone in the computer room. Enjoy your time Cemile!! Dont forget never!! "au
dessus!"
It's now half of May, and we are almost counting the time leaving
here :( ...
Unfortunately, the sun is not yet in York, and we dont know actually
when it decides to come even if it's just for few days. I think in England it's impossible to put away the coat.
But with or without the rain we enjoy the BBQ as you could see on the
new pictures. It was the birthday of a housemate of Isabelle in James
college. I was not there because you know why now, but after that we were in James common room to discuss with our friends. I joined them for the dessert of course, i coudnt forget the best part of the evening... but i think Cemile enjoyed not only the sultanas of the cake... isn't it? do you remember the movie, or just the title... try!!So, after Christophe proposed to watch a movie in Steph's house. The "Hole", very strange movie, i cant explain, but everybody was dead at the end! After that, i brought back the bike of Cemile, because, because she was sleeping ...
Fortunately, miss Sosso was there!!
I hope you will be very all wise this weekend miss Cemile, without your cow...me!!! :)
Hello for this new week4
we are fine...we had a good week as always...even if we had to study a littlte bit and we had some cold weather...it`s ok!we could survive..I just put the pictures of renata`s meal but in fact i have more!!!:) on wednesday we had again a barbecue...infact, in colleges the barbecue is forbiden but ...who care...if nobody see us and nobody smells..some good salads and meats and chicken and cakes :)
on friday, we went to town after 8 pm and walked a little bit around the city...it`s really good to be in spring!!!
after, we found a pub (we put 30 min to decide) and talked about...you will see in the pictures later ...:)
on saturday we were in castle howard! hopefuly, the sun was shining when the clouds was away...:) in fact until 3pm we were under some clouds and as it was windy we were cold but anyway it was really fun!!!there were a huge garden and wood with different species of rodinderon and a lot of multicolor flowers...don`t worry, i will put the pictures form the castle too but i have to write some letters for my application forms for next year so give me time... :)
So, after the visit of castle we were dead i think....but we played for 1 hour, frisbee and i learned how to do the...i forgot again the name...when u turn...or when u touch the floor for a second and that your legs are on the air and that again your feets touch the floor...did u understand?:)anyway because of this now, with stephe we have pain in half of our body :)
and the pictures... it`s about the renata`s meal... she cooked for us and it was gorgious! there were also some smelley cheese :) did you really like it james?:)
then we had a lot of people for the desset!! yes the strange cake is with beans...it`s very fun because all the foreign people liked it and found it different but tasty and all the english tought that it was horrible....i learned that jason didint like but he is polite and finished all...poor... :)
after we had a game time as for the child!!! and lecture time for solenne, charles and james... about her lecture... reproduction :) that`s why after, everybody was crazy and happy as always :)
we are always happy even if the poor solenne, has to finish her essay for tomorrow and that i have to write my letters explaining why i want to do my masters....
So, see you later perhaps soon for the rest of the pictures :)
Have good week!!!:)
Tuesday, May 10, 2005
HELLO!!! We are still alive!!!
we are well.. we finished our exams ...and handled our reports which was making us crazy... But we finished all and friday night we began to celebrate of course....
We had a turkish dinner on friday and just charles and patrick`s house party...but saturday we had a BBQ in james and markus `house and it was really fun ...after some of us went to ziggies...i was sleeping...:( and sunday night we had the big BBQ and party in younger court ..it was really fun and really big :)unfortunately, the morning, we had to clean all and it was really dirty but it`s ok!!!we had fun so...with renata, we tasted the english sausage and it`s crazy!!! we liked it!!!:)
Anyway... we will try to put regulary the pics and we hope we will put the pics of the last term too ...we were a litlle bit busy last term.. we were in the lab always or lectures... so quite hard to put all pictures and write....
we hope that you didint forget us and you will still remember the people...:)
have a good week!!!
here the weather is crazy!!!there is a big blue sky in the morning, then it hail for 20 min and rain for 20 minutes.. but the rain!!!you can take your shower without problems:)then again blue sky!!!
do you remember that to look the other pictures, you have to clikc on this pics....
have fun!!!
:)
See you soon :)
Tuesday, February 15, 2005
France 18-17 England!!!
Hounslow in the South Ouest of London to see my
cousin and visited London.
I took the bus friday afternoon from york to
London Station Victoria. My trip lasted about 5
hours and finaly it was not so long as i thought
before. We did nothing special friday night to be
on form saturday.
Saturday we were in the center of London and I
did "the Sara's Tour". Sara is a friend of my
cousin who lives in the north of London. As she
knows very well the city, she explains before a
nice tour of London to my cousin. Then my cousin
explained me the same tour. In the prog:
Buckingham palace, Queen Victoria Statue,
Westminster Abbaye, the houses of Parliament, Big
ben, Trafalgar square, national gallery (10 min), st paul cathedral, millenium bridge, the Monument, cross the Thames and walked until Tower Bridge, passed London Eye, covent garden, starbuck to drink a hot chocolate. Then we walked in the Oxford street to see some shops, regent street to Piccadilly Circus, China Town, Leicester Square. We saw rapidly BAFTA equivalent to cesar or oscar in great britain. But I didn't want to stay outside to wait so see some actors that i couldn't know the name. Finaly we would have seen Leo Dicario, richard Gere, Claudia chiffon, Keanue Reeves, 007... But we saw on the TV!!!! Sunday, we decided to go to a pub to see THE rugby game (6 Nations) between England and France at Twickenam. Before, we just passed aroud the Stadium in order to be in the atmosphere. It was so funny to see a lot of people (generally man) with nice clothes, nice car (Rolls, BMW, Mercedes...) and naturally a lot of alcohol just before coming in the stadium. I was so frustrated to not enter in the Stadium, so we decided to look for 2 tickets.....and we found 2 tickets very cheap from 2 french guys. I saw finaly my favourite player Michalak!! and the best player of the game Yachvili!! It's better than my calendar!! Very good , so so game but we won and we are very proud of french!! So we were so happy like we could imagine!! It was a very good week end where it was impossible to speak in english because of french pop in london and during the rugby game, we were with a lot of french.
Enjoy your week...
Tuesday, February 08, 2005
chocolate cheescake
I know very well that you don't like very much read all but you want to look at the pics and then laugh at us ...
So i had to make 5 differents pages because i had to put in 5 diffrent places the new pics...It's not my fault!It's because of johannes' new camera.He has so much space in his camera that he took some pics with hight quality... :)
So enjoy your self while looking at the pics...
Have a good week and i am always waiting for a new applicant who will write a little paragraph abiut his country :)
Visit Of York
Last weekend it was York resident's day.That's why all the meseum was free for the people who live in York.
If there is something free, steph is aware and she tell us quickly :)
So, the sunday morning...or sunday afternoon by 1 pm, we went to the city center, of course by walk and visit our beatiful city...You can comparate those pics with the manchester's pics and understand why we, always, say that we love our city:)
We visited clifford tower and then castle meseum which was very big.But we were very lucky because the sun was shining and we had a blue sky so we could have some excelent view from the top of clifford...
Our trip had a coffe break in the city and then we wanted to go to dungeon dragon but it was closed....SO, to forget our sadness, we had to go to eat some italian meal :)as pasta with gorgonzola and spanish hmmm :)
And finally, we went to evil eyes for steph so that she could, finally, drink her "velvet".She was waiting for 2 months and can you imagine that she could not finish all....it's really unbelievable...
Monday, February 07, 2005
Eat your bread quickly, before someone else eats your part :)
We took our shower and then we were ready for a fondu party organized by christophe. He had brought some swizerland cheese from home so we could taste the delicious fondu with some white wine :)
ANd before, carl propoed us the ginger wine!!!something english, again with ginger!Here you can find a lot of stuff with ginger: ginger biscuits, gingerbread, ginger tea with cranberry, gingerwine, chicken with ginger and curry....
Nevermind...
After this wine, finally, we could taste the fondu and we could finish all too :)We were just few foreign and Carl who didin't want to eat..Of course solenne oblige him to taste ...He said that he liked it but we don't know the reality!Comparate to some beans on toast...
What did we do after the fondu?
Just play asshole and then went to McQ ...:)
Someof us wanted to go to the D Club to eliminate the cheese but the party was sold out...:(
In Remembrance of Manchester
How was Manchester?
Ugly, dirty, big, empty like a phantom city, ....
But if you look at all the pictures you can find some interesting area too:)
We visited the meseum of science and industry where Johannes and Natacha tried to read everything so they couldnt see all :)
We went also an art museum.Even if in the pics, you will think that we were a litte bit crazy during the visit of this meseum, we liked it really very much...The only problem, that we were cold, tired and hungry as all the end of all trips :)
We saw also, chinatown, churh, library, castle, and the dirty city center :)
Nothing to add...Just look at the pictures and have your own idea about the city and our trip :)
charles
Today is monday.
SO as every monday, or as most of the monday because last monday we were not there; we plan to go there.
But what is charles? WHy we want to go there?
You can just click on the picture and see the others and perhaps you can understand that it's just a pub, nothing speciale...It's closed at 11pm as all the pubs in England and there is a lot of people and it's very hard to talk, at least you have to talk loudly or be very closed to be able to communicate...
So have a good week :)
Sunday, January 30, 2005
Cricket.....for dummies! by James...
In order to understand your stays in England, you must first comprehend the game that is cricket. There is a lot of misunderstanding leading to derision and prejudice amongst you foreigners. I have thereby taken it on as a personal quest to educate you all in the strange ways of cricket, and some of the other peculiarities of England and Great Britain as a whole.
Before we start, 'Great' Britain as in the word 'Great' isn't because it's large or because we think we're 'Great', it is instead merely the name for the island that encompasses England, Scotland and Wales. Sorry I thought I better just clear that up. It refers to the 'greater portion' as it were, of the British Isles. I just think it's good to bear that in mind.
Anyway, without cricket much of the civilised world wouldn't be civilised, that's a fact. Cricket is the separator between civilised and uncivilised. Indeed if a country plays cricket as a sport you can be sure that it is indeed civilised. Why is this you ask? Well put simply they used to be either colonies, still are colonies or were allied with Great Britain some how. It is important to bear in mind at this point that the majority of people who play in France cannot be considered allied with Great Britain, for reasons of national security. So if a country plays cricket, you can be sure that it was once integrated with the British Empire (the greatest empire the world has ever seen no doubt). I once heard something quite funny, 'the British don't realise their empire is gone, the French don't realise their empire was rubbish and the Germans don't realise they never had an empire). I think this sums up the state of Britain's empire. It's all but gone, with only a few relatively pointless islands dotted around the globe. The only colony of any significance remaining is Gibraltar. This colony serves its purpose as an excellent naval station.
So why after the empire is cricket still played in these Commonwealth countries? Well it's quite simply because it's an excellent game. Part of the attraction to many an Englishman (I stress Englishman because it's really an English game, it's not much played in Scotland, Wales or Northern Ireland), is that it can't be played by the continentals. Therefore it serves its purpose as a great divider in cultures, something that separates us and them. We love this kind of thing in Britain, being an island and all that. We like very much to govern ourselves and not be messed with. It is a source of national pride that no country or foreign power has successfully invaded and overthrown the government of England for just short of 1000 years. Many people have tried to invade, they all have failed. This leads sometimes to the term 'Fortress Britain' being used. We love stuff like this.
Anyway back to cricket...
Cricket involves two teams of 11 men. There is no simple plain cut aim of the game as it were. The purpose of cricket is really a match of patience and skill. The greater team winning by scoring more points. A draw can occur when the teams fail to finish their allotted periods of play in the time available for the game, usually 5 days. It's a long game! When national teams play one another, e.g. India vs. Pakistan, the game is called a 'Test Match' and does last for 5 days. Sometimes games are played for only 1 day, although this is the absolute minimum.
The cricket pitch is the place where the game is played. It is oval in shape and has in the middle a rectangular strip of really short grass that is rolled and pressed hard, so the ball will bounce, called a 'wicket'. This is an important term so learn it well. The teams can either be batting or fielding at any one time. So one team has cricket bats, two people from the their team are on the pitch, and the other team has no implements apart from the ball. The batting pair are on the wicket at opposite ends. The fielding team bowls them the ball, this is simply a special way of throwing the ball at the batters. The bowler of the ball has to try to knock the 'bails' off the 'stumps'. The 'bails' are two small wooden sticks that sit on top of three 'stumps' of wood pushed into either end of the wicket. The batsman has to stop the ball from hitting the stumps. If it does, he will be 'out', and can no longer play. Then the next batsman will come in, and start playing, etc... etc... until all the batting team are 'out'. However it's not that simple. A batsman can also be out if he hits the ball and a fielder catches the ball before it hits the ground, or if the bowler bowls and the ball hits the leg of the batsman and the referee, called the 'umpire', thinks that his leg was in front of the stumps 'leg before wicket, aka LBW), thereby protecting the stumps from being hit. You can't do this, you must hit the ball every time, or leave it to run past the stumps, you can't touch it with you body.
The bowler bowls from one end of the wicket for 6 balls, then they swap ends, so the other batsman has a chance (but they're working for the same team). This period of six balls is called an 'over', each successive over must be bowled by a different person on the fielding team. The batsmen can score points for their team by hitting the ball and running to opposite ends, before the fielding team can return the ball and knock the bails of the stumps, before the batsmen have returned to the ends of the wicket, passed a line called the 'crease'. If they're not back in time, they are out. The next batsman will come in. Remember there are only 11 people on the team, so the fielders have to get 10 people out (must be 2 batsmen at any one time on the pitch), in order to finish the batting team's 'innings'. Then they must swap roles, the batters become the fielders, and the fielders put two people on the bat. In a 5-day Test Match, there are 2 innings for each team. The object of the game being to score more 'runs' and get the other team all out twice in the 5 days allotted to play the game.
You can also score points if you hit the ball hard enough it reaches the outer line of the pitch. If it rolls over the batsman gets automatically 4 runs, without having to run. If the ball lands outside the pitch, you automatically get 6 runs; although this is quite rare. If the batsmen start to run to opposite ends before the ball has gone over the line, they don't score those points as well, they just get 4 runs. The batting team can also score points if the bowler steps over the line from one end of the wicket that he bowls from. This is worth one run, called a 'no ball'. If he bowls the ball wide of the batsman, this is called a 'wide ball' and is worth one run. If the bowler bowls the ball, and it runs past the batsman so far he doesn't have to hit it, and he runs to score one run, this is called a 'bye' and is also worth one run. If it rolls so far that it goes over the line behind the batsman, it's called 'four byes', and is worth 4 runs.
The fielders have very special positions that they stand in to try to get the batsmen out. There is a special role for one fielder directly behind the batsman called the 'wicket keeper'. He stands really close the batsman, like in baseball, and catches the batsman out, and stops byes from happening. He normally wears protective clothes, called 'pads'. It is important to bear in mind that a cricket ball weighs a lot and is very solid. It is covered in leather too. Some other positions that I won't bother explaining are called, 'slips', 'silly mid-off', 'short leg' and 'square leg'!! These names are hard to understand. So I won't bother explaining them.
So these are the basic rules of cricket. I stress these are the basic rules of cricket. It is a very complicated game to start with, there's a lot to remember. If you want to understand it better, you have to play or watch a game. Many cricket lovers like the game because it is immensely skilful. Other like the game because of its statistics. It is admittedly a lot slower and longer lasting than other games. But that's never been a problem in other things! The most important thing to be when either playing or watching cricket is patient, if you aren't, you'll get bored very quickly.
p.s. Most people who play cricket are rich. It is a middle and upper class game; the poorer people play other things such as football usually. Although this is just the majority, some poor people play cricket too, it's just not very common.
Thursday, January 27, 2005
Germany from Johannes
Hallo zusammen! Hello everybody!
I'm Johannes, the German guy in Cemile's second home (Younger Court E Block) here in York.
When Cemile asked me to present my country to you, well I felt on the one hand honoured; on the other hand it is not so easy to give you an imagination of a whole country. However here is my attempt: If you have never been in Germany you can picture it in many ways as a country at the centre of Europe boasting only a few really unique things on the first sight. Maybe that is the reason why a lot of people tend to see us as dull and grey.
And right, we do not have the agreeable Mediterranean climate Italy has (but we don't have the nasty English one, either). Nor can we compete with the French cuisine and its delicacies. Anyway I think we managed to pick up some of the good things other countries offer - although we haven't managed it so far to change our climate considerably. But with the friendly help of the Greenhouse Effect Germany will be soon a very pleasant place. So hopefully the quality of German wine will improve, as I can not really recommend our wines now.
In order to give you an example of my beloved country I will tell you finally something about Munich the capital of the south, the city were I studied before I went here to York. If you are there in wintertime you can go ice-scating or you can visit the Christmas market. However I would recommend you to spend your evening on the Tollwood Festival, a mixture of market for third world products, acting, music events and bars, especially don't miss the Bar tief im Wald (bar deep in the woods, although it is in the middle of the city center). Moreover the ski slopes are only an hour away in Garmisch-Partenkirchen. Another attraction that is open all year round: the Surf Spots on the Isar and the Eisbach where river surfers catch the rapids - very funny, although it looks a little bit ridiculous. In summer the main attraction is at first the English garden, the biggest city park in the world, and a nice place to escape the heat of the city, to play football or just to have a picnic with your friends. And in the evening you take a break in the Chinese Tower beer garden with a mug of Bavarian beer (best in the world, trust me).
As on the one hand I need now a beer for myself and as on the other hand I don't want to bore you, my report ends here - I hope you liked it at least a little bit.
Tschuess / Bye, have a good time and take care.
Wednesday, January 26, 2005
My first bread finished by solenne in 5 minutes
problem concerning the bread in this country!!!
I am a french girl, and naturally, the french
food is not very represented in england!!! You
dont know the most important proverb in france?
du pain, du boursin, et du vin!!! It's meant the
bread, the cheese, and the wine. But for me it's
simply the BREAD. So, Cemile tried to cook bread
two days ago, and fortunately i was with her in
the kitchen... to see how she procedes!! Finally
it's not very difficult even very easy!!! Just 3
ingredients: water, flour and yeast!!! not yeast
from the lab but yeast for special cooking, and a
little salt. But to cook bread , you need 3
hours, it's only the small problem. As far i am
concerned, I tried yesterday to cook my bread
during 4 hours!!! and in 5 min i ate half of
one!!! It was so good, and better when the bread
is warm, crisp. I was fed up with sandwich
loaf!!! An i have yet some cheese from france in
the freezer... so tonight i know exactly what i
want to eat. now the problem for cemile: THE
WINE... how could you prepare wine in this
country? excuse me cemile, but you have not
choice, you can only drink grape juice!!!
Tuesday, January 18, 2005
london finally
Hello for the last time today :)
PLEASE READ FOR THE FIRST TIME THE BLOG !!!
Yesterday, when I was mapping I thought :
We created the blog in October and our aim was to be able to send the pictures easily to everybody without rejected by some mailbox...
Than, we found very funny and amusing to write our week in English and explain the difference and some strange habits of british...
During the holiday, when we talked to people, we understood that we were writing a lot and putting so much pictures one after another that for the reader, it was very difficult to see all and read all...
So,
My decision:
I will put just some pictures and you can click on the picture and see the others on the page of www.flickr.com by a sample click.
I will make more interesting and useful the site by your help too. I thought that as we are from different countries, everybody can talk about his country. You can talk about his history, politic, customs, people, foodâ¦Next week I will publish the Germany written by Johannes. So if you want to write, it will be nice that you send me an e-mail to inform me because if I see that nobody want for the week I will try to write by my self thanks to internetâ¦after I talk about turkey of course!!
So!!
I am waiting your e-mails and you have not to write a lot it's just to profit from our foreign status and learn some news...
Have a good week and I hope that it will snow!!!
This picture is from Londonâ¦When I had to take the bus from London to Leeds after 5 hours of wait in Stansted Airport again, I had a 30 minutes of wait in London near to Victoria station so I profited from this break to visit London...Ok!!!Not visit but just turned around the station and saw the "look right" written on the asphalt !!!We are again in England and again all the cars want to go in the other side...
They are still crazy :)
"miniskirted" sosso
Hello everybody
The first is now finished and this week it's the
Beginning of the 2nd term.... concerning our
Assessment,it was not so easy, but no so
difficult too. So we hope that it will be ok in
few weeks for the results even if the teachers
are rigid and strict for the correction!!!
The last week end, we went to Ziggy's to evacuate
our stress. The music was a little quite bad, but
it was so funny to dance with Cemile and Renata.
And although the music was bad, it was cool to
speak in english with my housemates. I came back
by foot with Steph and my housemate at 3.00 am,
and the others took a taxi.(we are not so crazy to walk until home and be more tired!!!we had preferred to return quickly and continue to dance and tickle and drink and talk and eat as reneta who finished her temptation :))
The saturday, i ran with Steph and now i have a
big pain on my feet!! We went to the city center
by foot and the evening we cooked for us and
James/Markus a chicken.
Sunday, sleep for everybody... not for Cemile
like always!! Even if she goes to bed at 3.00 am,
she wakes up at 8.00 am!!! It's a crazy girl!!
And we had done sports: aerobic, without Cemile
because she was to tired, she decided just to
look us and says " go girl, it's not enough
fast!!!" ( i was not so tired just thinking that it's stupid to raise the leg 2o times and hope than the fat will disappear suddenly !!! )
Today it's raining.... snifff
windman of York
Hello,
Today is 18 of January and at 6 am, when i was cycling; i had a lot of snowflakes on my face...YES! Finally, it began to snow. I hope it will continue and we will be able to play snowball :)
The second week of the second term began after one hard week for some of us who had to pass some exams...not like some people who study politics, history or education....We recognize that we are jalousie but we worked so hard!!!
I was in the kitchen of younger court E at 9am, and i was studying in the kitchen until sosso came to eat sweets...We were using our brain so we had to feed it :)
Then at 12 we had our break until 2pm...We had to feed our self too. After a good lunch we had to drink our tea and talk about what we learned in the morning...Than it's again the work time!!! But just until at 5 pm or maximum 6 pm.Essentially, the best moment of the day: preparation of the dinner...We can say that we were very creative!!!We tried some new meals with Turkish ingredients or French cheese....
How were our exams....?
I think that they were easier (and not more easy) than in France. Perhaps it's because I had studied more cleverly or l had learned in England better⦠I don't know... but I can say something which can surprise you: i think in England the education is better than in France. No Sosso donât kill me!!!
Never mind...The exams ends!!
To forget the 10 days we had to organize a dinner in Stephanieâs kitchen "lasagnas party" on Thursday; go to dance in ziggies because of the Carlâs shoes on Friday night with "mini skirted" sosso; walk to city center and do shopping on Saturday; and eat some delicious meal prepared by Reneta served with a lot of rice ate by Sosso and chocolate cake finished by Stephanie. It was a funny dinner with the girls who could not stop to eat and Frode who were taking just his breakfast ... :)
Now, we are living our second term. Everything is as the first term except we try to talk more and we try to visit more England.
The first weekend of February we will go to Newcastle so you can have the chance of seing some beautiful pictures if you are nice with us :)
The windman?
When we were in city center, on Saturday, we saw the windman as always but this time he was colored in purple so i decided to take a new picture of him and while i was showing the pic to the others, the man called me and asked me where am i from.
When i answered, he said that he were in Turkey for several times and that he loves very much this country and he think that the people are too nice and smiley ...After talking about 15 minutes, he asked to me to pose for picture :)
He is very likable :)
Saturday, January 01, 2005
happy new with queen Sosso
It's just an other occasion for us to say "happy new year"
We hope that your st silvester was quite good and fun and that you are happy to began a new year :)
We are again in York!
The first day was very strange after germany because there was the sun shining and a blue sky....
Now, it's only 5 pm and it's so dark outside...and it's raining so hard and we have to study so hard too....
You can say that we are two poor girls abandoned...
But our 31 of december night was quite good with a lot of meals of course :)
We ate some 'foie gras' and some french cheeses which were smelling very badly...You can ask to Pete to comment those cheeses :)
So, have fun and finish your holliday with happinest and come back to tell us how was it :)